Murang’a: ACK Diocese of Mt. Kenya Central gets new bishop


Muranga: Rev. Timothy Irungu Gicheru was yesterday consecrated the new bishop, Anglican Church of Kenya (ACK) Diocese of Mt. Kenya Central ending a one year leadership rivalry in the dioceses.

He takes over from Rt. Rev. Allan Waithaka who had been appointed as a commissary in 2015 after elections for a new bishop flopped following a dispute that ended in a court of law.

Fresh elections were however conducted last month where Rev Gichere carried the day. The consecration service that was held at Ihura stadium was presided over by the Archbishop of the Anglican Church of Kenya, Rev. Dr. Jackson Ole Sapit.

Deputy President William Ruto, Transport and Infrastructure Cabinet Secretary, James Macharia, Murang’a County governor, Mwangi Wairia and Senator Kembi Gitura were among other leaders who attended the ceremony.

The new bishop has previously served in various capacities in the diocese including being in charge of parishes rising to an Administrative Secretary of the diocese.

ACK Diocese of Mt. Kenya Central was created in 1984 following subdivision of the Diocese of Mt. Kenya South.

The diocese has been served by three bishops namely Rev. John Mahia-ini (1984-1993), the late Rev. Julius Gatambo (1993-2003), Rt. Rev. Isaac Ng’ang’a (2004-2015) and Rt. Rev. Allan Waithaka who served as Archbishop’s Commissary. The diocesan headquarters are situated at ACK St. James and All Martyrs Cathedral in Murang’a town.

Ven. Timothy Gichere being consecrated bishop of ACK Diocese of Mt. Kenya Central

Leave a Reply